More good things happening

don mcgrath Take The Challenge

Don Urging People to Take The 50-K Active/Athlete Challenge

It is beginning to feel like that time of year when the busyness of the holidays rolls in and days fly by quickly. Next thing you know, it will be 2010. A few things are triggering this feeling for me. One is that I’m planning on traveling from my home in Colorado to my home town in upstate New York for Thanksgiving week to visit my extended family. It’s been a number of years since I’ve visited, so I’m looking forward to it. I’m also looking forward to the annual alumni dinner held by my former college (R.I.T.) running coach, Pete Todd. It will be great to see all my old buds.

A second trigger is that I am shooting to go to print in February, 2010 with my next book, “Lessons for a Strong, Healthy Life from 50 Athletes Over 50: Dream It, Live It, love It.” I’ll have a 70% draft ready by December 4th to deliver to a few others who are contributing to the book. On the list to write sections are Dr. Nikola Medic, Dr. Vonda Wright, and Dr. Don Ardell. I’m on-track to maybe slightly ahead of schedule! With the book release getting close, I will soon be starting a campaign to engage the media to help in promotion.

Another trigger is that I just booked the first speaking engagement associated with my 50 athletes over 50 project. On April 2nd, 2010 I will be speaking to The Aspen Club, which is a club organized through the Poudre Valley Health District for people in Northern Colorado over the age of 50.  The Aspen Club has over 13,000 members, so I’m hoping for a good turnout. If you or someone you know is interested in having me speak at an event regarding either the 50 Athletes Over 50 Project or the 50-k Active/Athlete Challenge Project (50-k.net), please email me at don@50interviews.com.

In news related to my first book of 10 interviews with over 50 athletes, it is now available on Amazon.com for use with a Kindle, and can be found at http://www.amazon.com/50-Athletes-over-Interviews/dp/B002VLZ04C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257887869&sr=8-1

If you read the book and liked it, please leave a review at the site above, as it will encourage others to read it.

Don Ardell, the best-selling author who I interviewed for my upcoming book and who will be writing the forward, recently shared his experience in coming back from having a major surgery in July, 2009 and winning the Triathlon World Championship in September. Read more at http://www.seekwellness.com/wellness/reports/2009-11-21.htm

For those who don’t know, 52 year old Joan Samuelson (used to be Joan Benoit), who ran the 2009 New York City Marathon to commemorate the 25th anniversary of her Los Angeles Olympic marathon gold medal, set a new NYC marathon record for the 50-54 age group by running 2:49.09. Wow! Read more at

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/olympics/2009-11-01-110667149_x.htm

Just Remember: “Youth is not a time of life; it is a state of mind. Nobody grows old by merely living a number of years, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul.” -Samuel Ullman, American writer

Leave a Reply

