Myrna Hagg – On a mission

The following is a brief profile of one of the athletes I interviewed for my upcoming book. If you would like to see future profiles that I post, please subscribe on this page.

Myrna Hagg
Myrna Running on the Florida Beach

Myrna Hagg is a 50 year old triathlete who lives in Tampa, Florida. Myrna has been an athlete as far back as she can remember. She was on the swim team in high school and took up running in her twenties. Myrna discovered triathlons in her late twenties when someone in her town told her about races where you ran, cycled, and swam. Myrna did a local sprint triathlon and won. Her second triathlon was a half-Ironman and to her surprise, she qualified for the Kona Ironman in Hawaii. Myrna had great success in triathlons, ranking as high as 4rth nationally. Despite this success, when asked about her greatest accomplishment in our interview, Myna told me about the mission she has been on for over 20 years to help overweight people by teaching them how to view food differently and become active. Myrna has helped thousands of people break their food addictions and changed their lives.

I am inspired by people like Myrna who recognize how lucky they are and give back. I recently decided that I will dedicate a chapter in my book to athletes that I interviewed who are doing just that, giving back.

The tentative title for my upcoming book that features the 50 athletes that I interviewed is, “Lesson for a Strong, Healthy Life from 50 Athletes Over 50: Dream It, Live It, Love It.” I feel that this title summarizes the focus of the book. I am trying to distill lessons that I have learned in the process of interviewing the 50 athletes over 50. It has been an amazing journey and I want to share my observations and the insights gained with the world. While the lesson came from interviews with athletes over 50 years of age, I believe that the people who stand to benefit the most are in their twenties, thirties, and forties. It is within this period of time where we need to make being active a lifestyle in order to sustain an active life well beyond 50. The athletes I interviewed have all done so and have great lessons to share.

I want to thank all of you who have been sending me email encouraging me in this project as well as in my 50-k Active Challenge project. I’m having a blast doing these projects, but sometimes like this past two weeks when I had to do some business travel, it really helped to open up my email and see word of encouragement. Please keep comments on my blog coming as well as email to don@50interviews.com.

3 responses to “Myrna Hagg – On a mission

  1. I’m a phy ed teacher and coach. I’m 49 years old and I’ve been in the running mode now after having coached a varsity volleyball team this fall. During the time away from running I’ve gained 10+ pounds and so I’m running 4+ daily and trying to eat healthy. I’ve noticed after my late afternoon runs that I’m consumed to eat larger amounts of unhealthy foods this week. I know that I need to develop will power to be healthy and not to consume food in the order of an obsession. I’m not sure what’s behind this odd behavior! Myrna has helped many women.. what would be some tips in this area?

  2. Pam
    Will power never works…well atleast not for me. What you are experiencing can be so frustrating…it promotes a diet binge lifestyle that so many of us get trapped into. I think I can help out. First of all,… it isn’t your fault….the behavior stuff you referred to…. is a chemical imbalance…Although exercise is awesome….it can cause an imbalance, so can diets…unless you know how to properly balance food and exercise you become a victim of both …..(the obsession you referred to). I have a book I wrote on this topic…It is $14.95 you can purchase it on my website. http://www.myrnahaag.com It really is a must read…not sure what your financial situation is? ….but if you can’t afford to purchase one….. let me know privately in my e-mail mhaag@pinehillcapital.com and I’ll make sure one is provided for you. I also volunteer at the Salvation Army on Thursday and Sunday evenings in Tampa ….I teach the girls nutrition and exercise in the resident housing ….you can always join us there….I review menu plans and help the girls balance their foods….we can work on yours too.

    Myrna Haag

  3. Pingback: Bob Radocy – Today is the first day of the rest of your life « 50 athletes over 50

Leave a Reply

